iCorrect Color Blog

ProcessQ – The heart of iCorrect EditLab ProApp’s workflow

by on Jul.30, 2009, under iCorrect EditLab ProApp, Uncategorized

Although PictoColor Software is most widely known for our line of iCorrect Photoshop plug-ins, we also offer a unique stand-alone product for batch processing of high volume jobs.  iCorrect EditLab ProApp is a professional color correction and color editing software that combines iCorrect EditLab Pro color technology with automated workflow tools and advanced  batch processing features to make digital photo correction extremely fast and easy.

iceditlab_proapp01

iCorrect EditLab ProApp’s workflow is built around the concept of an image queue called the ProcessQ, which is displayed at the bottom of the main EditLab window.

Images are held in the ProcessQ during an editing session, and although any edits that are applied do not become final until the contents of the ProcessQ are saved, the thumbnails in the ProcessQ do reflect the effects of any color corrections that have been applied.

ProcessQWinEdited thumbnails also have “sticky notes” attached to them, making it easy to see which images have been corrected. A C indicates that a color correction has been applied, an S indicates that sharpening has been applied, and an N indicates that noise removal has been applied. The image that is open for editing in the main window is outlined in black. You can drag the bar above the thumbnails up and down to change the size of the thumbnails that are displayed. Note that the size of the main window will limit how large they can be.

Adding Images to the ProcessQ

You will be prompted to add images to the ProcessQ whenever it is empty, and you can place additional images into the ProcessQ at any time by clicking the Add… button, or by using the Add Images to the ProcessQ… command in the File menu. Multiple images may be selected at a time, and you can add as many batches of images as you want. When selecting multiple images from the Open File dialog (using the Shift and Control keys), EditLab appends that particular batch of images to the end of the ProcessQ. You cannot reorder the images in the ProcessQ. However, you may remove any number of images from the ProcessQ at any time.

Selecting Images in the ProcessQ

To select an image for editing, saving or removal from the ProcessQ, simply click on the corresponding thumbnail.

Whenever the mouse is not over the preview image in the main window, you can also use the arrow keys to advance from one thumbnail to the next. It is important to note that when you open a thumbnail, any edits that have been made in the currently open image are automatically applied to that image before the new image is opened, as described below. That is, opening a thumbnail is the same as clicking the Apply button and then selecting a new thumbnail.

You can select multiple thumbnails by using the Shift and Control keys, and you can select all of the thumbnails with the Control-A keys. Selected thumbnails will be outlined in black, and the image that is open in the main window will also be outlined in yellow. The titles of the Remove, Save and Sync buttons will be updated to indicate the number of images you have selected.

Removing Images from the ProcessQ

Clicking the Remove button, or selecting Remove from the File menu, will remove any selected thumbnails from the ProcessQ. The title of the Remove button and the corresponding File menu item will reflect the number of images you have selected for removal. Note that removing an image from the ProcessQ does not delete the corresponding image file from your hard disk. It simply removes the image from the set of images that is available for editing in EditLab.

Editing Images in the ProcessQ

To open an image for editing, simply click on the corresponding thumbnail. If any edits are already applied to that image (you can use the Add Image Preferences to specify an edit to be automatically applied to images as they are added to the ProcessQ), the controls in the main window will reflect those settings. Proceed to edit your image using the four edit tool tabs as described in Chapters 6-10 of this User Guide. When you are happy with the result, Apply and/or Save the edit.

It is important to understand the difference between Applying and Saving an edit. When you apply an edit, the edit parameters become associated with the image in the ProcessQ, the thumbnail in the ProcessQ is updated to reflect those edits, but the corresponding image file is not updated. This allows you to quickly edit many images, deferring the processing time associated with updating image files until you all done editing. This also allows you to re-open an edited image if you decide to make further modifications. Of course, you are also free to save an image at any time, at which point any applied edits are saved in the corresponding image file.

The most obvious way to apply an edit is by clicking the Apply button, which applies the edit, closes the image, and opens the next image from the ProcessQ. You can also simply select another image from the ProcessQ for editing. Any edits that have been made to the image that is currently open are automatically applied before a new image is opened. If you want to close the current image without applying any new edits, you must click the Cancel button. Finally, if multiple images have been selected from the ProcessQ, the Sync button can be used to apply the current edit to all selected thumbnails. The title of the Sync button will reflect the number of images that have been selected for synchronization, and if the Sync button title ends with ‘…’, the Sync Preferences will be displayed before any settings are applied.

Saving Images from the ProcessQ

When you are ready to finalize your edits by updating the corresponding image files, select the corresponding thumbnails and either click the Save button or select Save from the File menu. The title of the Save button will reflect the number of images that have been selected. To save all of the images in the ProcessQ, use the Control-A keys to select all of the thumbnails, and then click the Save all button. If the title of the Save button ends with ‘…’, the Save Image Preferences will be displayed before any images are saved.

Each selected image will be corrected according to any applied edits and then saved according to the current Save Image Preferences.

ProcessQProgWinIf you need to stop the Save operation, you can press the Esc key at any time.

Saving the ProcessQ as a Job File

If you need to interrupt an editing session before you are ready to save the edits, select Save Job… from the File menu to save the state of the ProcessQ in a job file. You can save a job, quit the application, and then resume that job later by selecting Resume Job… from the File menu. This is a convenient way to temporarily pause an editing session for a short period of time, but if any image files associated with the job are deleted, moved, or modified, the job file will be obsolete and you will not be able to resume the job. Therefore, after you have resumed a job, you will probably want to delete the corresponding job file.


Leave a Reply

Looking for something?

Use the form below to search the site:

Still not finding what you're looking for? Drop a comment on a post or contact us so we can take care of it!